International Scientific Advisory Board

The International Scientific Advisory Board (ISAB) consists of top international scholars in areas closely related to the program. The ISAB has an advisory role and is also responsible for, on behalf of the board of directors and the Wallenberg Foundations, a biannual evaluation report of the program.

Daniel L. Schwartz is the I. James Quillen Dean and Nomellini & Olivier Professor of Educational Technology at Stanford Graduate School of Education. He leads Stanford’s Transforming Learning Accelerator, a major interdisciplinary initiative advancing the science and design of learning to bring effective and equitable solutions to the world. An expert in human learning and educational technology, Schwartz also oversees a laboratory that creates pedagogy, technology, and assessments that prepare students to continue learning and adapting throughout their lifetimes. He has taught math in rural Kenya, English in south-central Los Angeles and multiple subjects in Kaltag, Alaska. As co-host of the Stanford podcast and SiriusXM radio show School’s In, Schwartz discusses current topics in teaching and learning with an aim of helping educators and parents understand and use the latest research. He is author of The ABCs of How We Learn: 26 Scientifically Proven Approaches, How They Work, and When to Use Them.

Daniel L. Schwartz is Chair of WASP-HS International Scientific Advisory Board.

Walter Daelemans is professor of Computational Linguistics at the University of Antwerp where he directs the CLiPS computational linguistics research group. His research interests are in machine learning of natural language, for example in the development of Memory-Based Language Processing; computational psycholinguistics, especially exemplar-based alternatives to mental rules as representations explaining language acquisition and processing; computational stylometry, with a focus on authorship attribution and author profiling from text; and language technology applications, for example biomedical information extraction, cybersecurity systems for social networks, and deep learning based conversational agents.

Vanessa Evers is a Professor of Socially Intelligent Systems at the School of Computer Science and Engineering and the Founding Director of NTU Institute of Science and Technology for Humanity (NISTH). She is also a chair and Professor of Human Media Interaction, University of Twente; the Scientific Director and founder of the DesignLab in the Netherlands. Her work exists at the intersection of Computer Science, Psychology, Design, and Electrical Engineering and focuses on human interaction with AI systems and cultural aspects of Human Computer Interaction. She seeks to study the impact of technology on human society, and to bring industry, government and academia together to find ways to enhance the use of technology for the betterment of humanity. 

Andrew McAfee is the Co-Founder and Co-Director of MIT’s Initiative on the Digital Economy and a Principal Research Scientist at the MIT Sloan School of Management. He studies how digital technologies are changing the world. His most recent book More From Less: The Surprising Story of How We Learned to Prosper Using Fewer Resources – and What Happens Next was published by Scribner in fall of 2019.  McAfee and his frequent coauthors Erik Brynjolfsson are the only people named to both the Thinkers50 list of the world’s top management thinkers and the Politico 50 group of people transforming American politics. 

Sir Jonathan Montgomery FMedSci is a British legal scholar who combines academic work with public service roles. His research focuses on health care law and the governance of bioethical issues. He is Professor of Health Care Law at University College London and Chair of Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. He was Chair of the UK Human Genetics Commission 2009-12, the Nuffield Council on Bioethics 2012-17, and Health Research Authority 2012-19. He was co-author of the chapter on ‘ethics and the social contract for genomics in the NHS’ in the Chief Medical Officer for England’s report for 2017.

Emma Ruttkamp-Bloem is professor and head of the Department of Philosophy at the University of Pretoria. She is the leader of the ethics of AI research group at the Centre for AI Research (CAIR) in South Africa and a member of the AUDA-NEPAD Consultative Roundtable on Ethics in Africa. Her work focuses on the philosophy and ethics of science and technology. She is a member of COMEST and she was the chairperson of the Bureau of experts tasked to prepare a UNESCO recommendation for a global instrument on the ethics of AI in 2020. Prof Ruttkamp-Bloem is a corresponding member of the International Academy for the Philosophy of Science, a member of the advisory board of the Global AI Ethics Institute and a member of the editorial boards of the Synthese Library Book Series and Acta Baltica: Historiae et Philosophiae Scientiarum.